Our team members introducing themselves


Dr. med. vet. Katja Steiger

  • Board-certified specialist for veterinary pathology (2005)
  • Main focus on comparative pathology of animal models in cancer research
  • Special expertise in the field of lab animal pathology

Prof. Dr.med. Wilko Weichert

  • Director of the Institute for Pathology, TU Munich
  • Board-certified specialist for human pathology
  • Main focus on translational pathology, validation and evaluation of new biomarkers
  • Long-term experience in comparative pathology, especially in murine animal models

Dr. med. Carolin Mogler

  • Deputy medical director of the CEP
  • Specialist for human pathology with main focus on gastrointestinal pathology (liver)
  • Long-term experience in comparative pathology, especially in murine pathology and lab animal pathology
  • Main focus on comparative pathology of gastrointestinal and hepatic diseases and neoplasia


Scientific staff:

Dr. med. vet. Simone Ballke

  • Veterinarian with long-term expertise in animal model research
  • Pathology of animal models CRC 824
  • Chemical-technical assistant
  • Light-sheet-fluorescence-microscopy

Dr. med. Marianne Reiser

  • Junior physician human pathology
  • Project processing translational Pathology for CRC 1335 and CRC 824

Dr. rer. biol. hum. Rim Sabrina Jahan Sarker

  • Long-term experience in molecular biology
  • Research with animal models with focus on COPD
  • Main focus digital pathology and computer-based analyses (CRC 1371)

Monica Daniela Ronderos Herrera

  • Veterinarian and Diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Pathologists (Dipl. ACVP)
  • PhD student

Nils Wirges

  • Veterinary doctoral student
  • Pathology of pancreatic cancer in animal models

Tanja Groll

  • Veterinary doctoral student
  • Scholarship of the Cusanuswerk (*link) Topic: “The role of different mast cell subtypes in intestinal carcinogenesis”

 Senior physicians and junior physicians with different entity specific main emphasis.


Technical staff:

  • Olga Seelbach (Head of the laboratory)
  • Marion Mielke (Head of immunohistochemistry)
  • Ulrike Mühltaler
  • Irina Eskina
  • Aezlat Alkhamas
  • Maximilian Günzel (AG Mogler, CRC 1366)
  • Hildegard Kalvelage (IMI)
  • Anne Jacob (IMI)


Project management:

  • Dr. rer. nat. Karin von Schwarzenberg



  • Petra Hauke